15 June 2017

2016-11-26 my mango tree at km 12 R

A  GOAL  REALIZED

Austin and I have lived on Valley Road for 10 years this month.  For ten years I have gazed up at this beautiful mango tree at Km. 12 every single time I drive.  For ten years I have been saying, “I want to climb up to that mango tree.”  This week – finally – I did it.

2017-06-11 starting out 1 Cr

These two fellows made it possible.  You know Junia.  The young man on the right is Vilimoni.  His family lives in the house at the foot of the hill.  He showed us the best way up – the most direct route to the ridge, and accompanied us about 1/3 of the way.

2017-06-11 starting out 2  R.jpg

And we start.   Victor and Kiki start up the trail in front of me.

2017-06-11 climbing up  R.jpg

Coming out of the trees, I see what I think is “my tree” in the saddle of the hills.  (Moni says it is a different mango tree – I never know for sure who was right.)

2017-06-11 looking down - where is the bottle R

Junia makes it up to the tree ahead of the boys and me.  He takes a good view of the river and the road.  He has me holding my water bottle all the way up.  Good luck in finding it – and me.

2017-06-11 emerging 1 R

I’m starting to emerge from the tall grass.  I still am holding the water bottle high.

2017-06-11 emerging 2 R

Now Kiki, Victor and I are all emerging.

2017-06-11 I am there R

I immediately plop myself  under the tree.  How can I prove I was here?

2017-06-11 we are there R

We were here.

I drink my water and say some prayers for the well-being of everyone in the valley.

2017-06-11 tree grandson and lizard eggs Cr

The boys play with the tree and find lizard eggs.

2017-06-11 under the tree with grandsons R

One last special photo before we go.

The trek was far harder than I expected.  I am in far worse shape than I thought.  If I had not wanted so badly to go, I would have quit.  If Austin had been along, he would have made me turn back.   Good thing I went with Junia instead.

*     *     *

Today is my daughter Lua’s birthday.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Sweetheart.

I probably already am in Canada with her – as grandson Victor and I are en route as I schedule this post.

*     *     *

Happy week to you all.

*     *     *

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “15 June 2017

  1. Congratulations! you did it! good for you!! am proud of you! Not quite the picnic you had said…Enjoy with Lua and family. hugs hugs

  2. Good for you! Gorgeous photos. On Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 6:02 AM Flora and Fauna Weekly Report wrote:

    > Kim in Fiji posted: ” A GOAL REALIZED Austin and I have lived on Valley > Road for 10 years this month. For ten years I have gazed up at this > beautiful mango tree at Km. 12 every single time I drive. For ten years I > have been saying, “I want to climb up to that mango tree” >

Leave a Reply

