27 August 2015

2015-08-28 mulberry bush 1 R

Here we go round the Mulberry Bush.   Austin has been bugging me for 2 weeks to get pictures of the mulberry bush, up near Beamer’s grave, because it is full of mulberries right now.  That’s the good news.  The bad news is Austin can never get ripe ones because the birds steal all of them as soon as they start turning darker.

2015-08-28 Lepto Po Cr

Next up at the farm is Lepto Po.   Our poor mama dog got leptospirosis!  First she was sluggish – then her eyes turned bright red, she had swollen glands, and also seemed to have a headache.  Austin – a two time lepto survivor – recognized the signs quickly.  We had some amoxicillin, looked up dog dosage, and started treatment.  Our favorite human doctor fine-tuned the treatment regimen …. and now Po is doing just fine.   YAY for modern medicine!

After this:  KIM LEFT FOR VACATION

2015-08-28 Rakhee 1 R

On the way to the airport:

Raksha Bandhan with my brother Jeswant who lives halfway to Nadi now.   First up, I put some sweets and his “rakhee bracelet” on a plate.

2015-08-28 Rakhee 2 R

Then I tie the bracelet on his wrist.

2015-08-28 Rakhee 3 Cr

Then I make him eat some of the sweets.

Then he blesses me (he’s my only brother that does this and I really appreciate it).   Then he gives me a present – this year’s was just magnificent, a saree suit, but I didn’t get a photo.  He is too generous.

2015-08-28 happy chix to Taviuni 1 R

Oustide the airport

Austin has brought chicks that he is air-freighting to Taveuni to our friends at Gaiatree Sanctuary there.

2015-08-28 happy chix to Taviuni 2 Cr

Ten dozen chicks in those four transport boxes.

2-15-08-28 friend from Congo R

In the airport

I make a new friend from the Congo!   She doesn’t speak much English, I speak a little French – we end up together all the way from check-in in Fiji to baggage claim in Honolulu.   Au revoir, Cisca!

2015-08-28 excitement at KPT 1 R

Vertical Village in Honolulu

I’ve been to Hawaii pretty many times, but this is my first time at Kuhio Park Terrace (KPT) – a pair of 17-story buildings that each house 2500 people, mostly  Micronesians.   My daughter and son-in-law live on the top floor of B-building.

2015-08-28 excitement at KPT 1 Cr

My second night here – there was loud yelling – and we went out and hung over the balcony/open hallway like everybody else.   Clara could see some guy running with a skateboard.   We heard a policeman on a bullhorn saying, “Drop Your Knife”

2015-08-28 excitement at KPT 3 R

There was an ambulance at the entrance.

2015-08-28 excitement at KPT 2 R

And at least 14 police cars.  Somebody tackled skateboard guy and big cheers went out like at a foootball game. By and by the amublance team left with an empty stretcher, and we learned later that it was a drunk guy (no surprise there) and who was involved. Oh yes, and that the ambulance was here before the fight started, for a suspected heart attack on the 4th floor.

“Mom – I’m worried about you posting about the fight, because it will perpetuate the bad rep our neighborhood already has. which is not fair..”

It’s a shame it has such a bad rep – I  Iike KPT better than any place I’ve been in Hawaii!

I love it here!   It feels like coming home!  That kerfuffle was not much different from so many drunken brawls I’ve seen all over – except the 14 police cars and the stadium atmosphere of the 17 floor building!

2015-08-28 Encheni and me R

Reunion after 30 years!

I was looking for her mom (my best friend on Tol in Chuuk) – but only she was home (because her mom is back in Chuuk for a visit).   She is Encheni – a sweet girl from I knew 30 years ago.

Encheni & Clara 1986 Cr

This is her with Clara, my Hawaii daughter, back in 1985 or 86.   There are a gazillion reasons Chuuk will always hold a very special place in my heart.  Being in a vertical village with so many Chuukese is a joy.  And it is also wonderful to hang with Marshallese and to see all the diversity of the Pacific rising on this little piece of land.

2015-08-28 Chuukese carver 1 Cr

All we’re missing is the sand under the breadfruit tree

Really, KPT even ended up with a carving shop in an unused room on the ground floor.  Maintenance took down a tree…

2015-08-28 Chuukese carver 2 R

And Samuel, this man, asked permission to use it to make carvings.   Rather than haul it off, maintenance gave him sections, and he has turned it into a successful business.   All he’s missing is shark teeth for his shark carvings.   Son-in-law Nigel will be looking in to scoring some shark teeth from Fiji for him.

happychickens-taveuni4 R

And finally – news from home

Emails have been flying back from Natasha at Gaiatree to Austin at the farm.  The chicks are doing terrifically – everyone who has bought them is ecstatic.  Natasha has sent many photos, and she’s even branded the photos!   Happy Chicken is coming up in the world!

*    *    *

I’m having a holiday blast  I hope you are all having a wonderful time as well.

*    *    *

5 thoughts on “27 August 2015

  1. Gosh, what an exciting life you lead! I’m in Germany with my family right now, and just this morning we read in the paper that the police pelleted a lawn with a couple of warning shots to stop some runaway guy. These were the first shots fired by police in Munich this year. Probably interrupted their mid-morning sausage snack.

  2. “Exciting life” – ha ha ….. I’m just having an exciting vacation. You, too! Lucky us! I just got an old favorite food for dinner tonight and that may be my excitement for next week’s blog.

  3. Wow Kim, something interesting things in this blog. I have been sort-of out of commission for a while, so I haven’t been responding. I’m getting around to reading your reports. I didn’t know you had made the trip to Hawaii again. I haven’t been back for about 4 years now. If I make another trip there it will be during the winter. Hope you are all well. Larry

    • Hi Larry – Sorry you’ve been out of commission – and glad you are back. I’d noticed you were not around, but I just figured the blog was b-o-r-i-n-g since it is off the farm. I am in the midst of a vacation that is lasting longer than anticipated – so I won’t be back to the farm for another 4 weeks. God only knows what I’ll find to write about for the next 3 Thursdays here in British Columbia. All best wishes, Kim

  4. Pingback: 10 August 2017 | Flora and Fauna Weekly Report

Leave a Reply

