19 February 2015

2015-02-19 topiary 0  R

The star of this week is Austin’s funny hibiscus topiary, most easily identified on a foggy morning with the papaya tree in front.

2015-02-19 topiary 6 Cr

We wanted the view, but Austin felt bad never letting the hibiscus bloom, when it wanted to bloom so desperately.

2015-02-19 topiary 1  Cr

So he trimmed it leaving a few large branches to grow high and bloom.  I’ve never seen anything like it anywhere else.

2015-02-19 topiary 5  Cr

Strange, but it works.

SS 2015-02-05  Misty morning  R

ODD FOG

This photo is actually from a few weeks ago, but it’s all I’ve got.   What I want to tell you about is Austin and me heading to Suva early on Saturday, and the morning fog was different.   It wasn’t a dense mass rolling through, but was a thinner mist.   Austin said it was more like steam rising from the trees in the early morning sun.  I think he was right.

2015-02-19  landslide 1  R

SCARFACE

Coming back from Suva we were both really struck by this humongous landslide visible for miles away.   Finally it just begged to be photographed.

2015-02-19  landslide 2 R

Maybe the rain was that much heavier than usual in that area..  The trees, shrubs and grasses really lost it this time.   Austin says he  thinks this face will probably just stay exposed.

2015-02-19  landslide 3  R

THIS is what that mountain can look forward to.  Grizzled Elderhood.

2015-02-19 mimosa tree  R

DRENCHED BEAUTY

Come to think of it we have had a lot of rain here, too.  Everything’s gone jungley.  The prettiest new flowering vegetation is this mimosa tree.

2015-02-19 mimosa flower  R

Even though the flowers look a bit like wet cats.

🙂

*   *   *

9 thoughts on “19 February 2015

  1. love the hibiscus topiaryand there’s a similar landslide scar here on Kauai from several years ago.it may take a while:) Jonathan “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, add chocolate.” Anthony Privitelli

    • Completely agree on the chocolate! Someday I want to get a lot of photos of landslide scars because they are so interesting. I agree with you that vegetation (short vegetation) will come back – but Austin thinks this one went down to rock.

  2. Hey Kim!
    You have really outdone yourself this week! Thanks for sharing-every week! I enjoy them very much!
    Please regular email me when you get a chance. I have some news to share. (TY!)
    Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
    Hugs,
    Libbie

    • Hi Libbie – What a hoot! I thought this week was a real loser, and I only posted what I had because if I don’t keep the steady momentum I’m afraid I’ll peter out. I just shot you off an email – eager to hear your news. Hugs back, Kim

  3. I miss the hibiscus from my Indian garden, so please let yours bloom. Even if it’s a constant battle with the plant sending out new branches in the morning, only to be trimmed back into shape in the evening. I’m on the plant’s side!

    • You and Austin are on the same page, Karolyn – that’s why he’s let the odd branch climb sky-high. We also have hibiscus in other spots that grow humongous and bloom away. Austin came up with a way to have the hibiscus bloom AT NIGHT for a party …. I should blog that some time!

  4. You know Kim in our part of the country we pay money for hibiscus plants about three feet tall to sit on the porch and bloom all summer (if your lucky). It looks like full summer there. Everything is sure getting green. Looks really beautiful. Hope things re going well and the family are all well.

Leave a Reply

