23 October 2014

2014-10-23  metallic bug   Cr

This was the real beauty from this week – a gorgeous metallic looking insect.  I think this bug is even on one of the Fiji postage stamps.

2014-10-23 Billy and sister  Cr

AN OLD FRIEND

I saw Billy the goat and his sister foraging in the drain beside the road, thought “how sweet” and stopped to take a photo.

2014-10-23 Billy  R

Billy recognized me and came up to say Hi!   I was so happy and surprised.   Billy’s owner told me that it’s good he stayed with us for a month, because he is not afraid of dogs any more.  If a dog comes near, Billy turns around and shows them his horns 🙂

2014-09-25 waka levu   R

KAVA STUFF

The proper way to drink yaqona (kava) the local mild intoxicant, is to pound the root, add water and squeeze.  The lazy way is to use powdered kava.  Anyway,  the dried roots are organized into a bundle called a waka.  I asked this man if I could take his picture because it is one of the biggest waka I ever saw.   Almost for sure he bought this to take to some ceremony (wedding, funeral, petition to a chief).

2014-10-23  kanikani R

And THIS is an example of kanikani, the “lizard skin” condition that happens to people who drink too much kava.   It results from Vitamin A depletion.    This is my friend’s foot.

2014-10-23  mangos 1  Cr

IT’S A MIRACLE

That long drought had one surprising side effect:  MANGOES !

2014-10-23  mangos 2  R

The tree is loaded.   We are shocked.

2014-10-23  land swans  Cr

LAND SWANS

Two ganders that always hang out in our yard have taken to chilling in the driveway.  I know they are ganders because they are pure white.  The female pilgrim geese have some gray on them.

CONFESSION TIME

My dear friend planted the tree in memory of her grandpa  (see 21 August ) …. and then I forgot about the tree!   We had that awful drought, and the tree on the top of the hill …. well, I was afraid it was dead.  Austin said it might survive and that I should just watch it.

2014-10-23  Vova survives   R

Finally!  It is putting out new leaves.   Isn’t this a delightful fleur-de-lis configuration!

*   *   *

2014-10-23 bleeding heart  R

This is a flower I love that we have in Suva, a kind of ‘bleeding-heart.’

Happy Diwali.

*   *   *

7 thoughts on “23 October 2014

  1. Some very interesting things in this issue of the blog. The goats look pretty friendly. You must know them. I really found it interesting that the Vitamin A deficiency would cause the skin to change it’s elasticity. Hope things are going well. Larry

  2. Hi Larry, We do know the goat. Billy came to us the week of 24 July after our dogs bit him, and stayed with us about a month. I had less to do with him than the boys did, though – and I didn’t expect him to remember me. As for the Vitamin A – “kanikani” connection – what it means is that if the fellows ate plenty of papaya and green leafy veggies, they could drink kava all day long and their skin would not tell on them. Love, Kim

    • I had good intentions of doing a kava “start to finish” – but never got a photo of it growing. We don’t grow it on our farm. Maybe some day. HOWEVER, when you come to visit, I will take you out to drink the stuff … we’ll see how it compares to your European vices of choice!

  3. Beautiful flora and fauna this week Kim! Tugging at my heart since I was there last Diwali and we went to Vina’s and Madam seemed so well then… sometimes a year seems like five years. Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

