2 October 2014

2014-09-21 dawn 1 R

The best part of every day for me for the last month has been getting up at dawn and walking out to pineapple circle.

2014-09-21 dawn 3  R

This may change with the weather, but it has been a great joy.

2014-09-23 macadamia nut tree in flower  Cr

MACADAMIA FLOWERS

Our macadamia tree is in flower.   I forgot we even had a macadamia tree until Austin reminded me.

2014-09-25 macadamia sign  R

Even though it has this helpful (though misspelled) sign!   Oh well…..

2014-09-25 macadamia flower  Cr

Behold a macadamia flower.

2014-09-25 macadamia flowers 2  R

The tree has LOTS of them.

2014-09-25 macadamia nuts  Cr

And even some young macadamia nuts!

2014-09-28 mtn apple flowers  R

ANOTHER FLOWER

Akka cued me in on this one – it is a mountain apple flower, blooming in the goose pen.  Beautiful, isn’t it!   (I don’t know if I’d see any of the tree flowers if it weren’t for my family).

2014-09-27 David Bowie horse with riders  R

CHICKEN CUSTOMERS

These boys came on horseback to buy a dozen chicks from Austin.  Of more interest to me was the horse….

2014-09-27 David Bowie horse eye R

David Bowie on the hoof!    I’d never seen a horse with blue eyes – or in this case ONE blue eye!    You’ll have to take my word that the other one was brown.  I couldn’t get him from the other side.

2014-09-20 Ken - on horseback2014-09-20 Ken - on horseback 2

MORE GUEST PHOTOGRAPHS

A couple of weeks ago Ken, another Teitei guest, told me he had some photos I could use.  I didn’t get them before he left, but he actually remembered to put them in dropbox for me!  Yay!    Here we have some of his kids and Kiki on horses with Vina’s son and with Akka – mounting up and on a trail ride.

2014-09-20 Ken - Sigatoka Sahara2014-09-20 Ken - Sigatoka Sahara 2

Ken got some great photos of Sigatoka’s Sahara – the Sand Dunes.

2014-09-20 Ken - swing at cottage

Back at the farm – his youngest daughter enjoying the tire swing at the cottage.

2014-09-20 Ken - gecko and beetle

Some creature life other than the scores of chickie photos he took :)

2014-09-20 Ken - man in the trees 3

And What the Heck?!   What was Austin doing up in the tree?

2014-09-28 surprise clutch of eggs  R

TWO CHICKEN SURPRISES

Austin found this clutch of eggs in the unfinished ground floor of our house.   Twenty-nine eggs!    Good Lord!

The other surprise was something just learned from a fellow-blogger: hens as exterminators!  Green Lizard  put up this post last week, wherein she displayed some envy-eliciting speckled eggs AND told how chicken ears relate to shell color  http://lizard100blog.wordpress.com/2014/09/28/chicken-shed/    I felt obligated to tell her I already knew how chickens ears are related to eggshell color, and gave her a link to my 8 May 2014 post.  WELL – what a shocker: in our exchange of replies under my post she told me that her hens catch mice. !!   She later said ALL hens catch mice.   That is news to me, and more: it is even news to Dr. Happy Chicken.

2014-09-29 first drops  R

THE PROMISED RAIN HAS COME

Voila!  Our first drops.

2014-09-29 first mud  R

And our first mud.

These photos are from day before yesterday.  The sun is out again already – CHEERS.

*     *     *

May your October be resplendent!    October in the southern hemisphere is the equivalent of April in the north.   Autumn for most of you, spring for us.    Seems just right.

*     *     *

11 thoughts on “2 October 2014

    • Hey Lady – There were several chooks laying eggs there – that’s why the eggs are different colors.. God only knows how long they’d been building up – Austin had to float them to see if any were rotten.

      That reminds me – nobody asked me how the beeswax patch worked. It didn’t. Stinky egg took flying lessons.

      • Oh no… I guess the bugs got in there before the beeswax went on… it only takes a few to multiply to a few billion 😦

        My name is Simone, btw, just in case.

      • I knew it was Simone from comments in your blog … but I like you so much as Lady (of the Cakes) that “Lady” you shall be to me, at least until we meet and chat over a cuppa.

  1. I really enjoyed seeing the macadamia and the flowers. I don’t think I have ever seen a tree in bloom. I also enjoyed the wildlife and being from Oklahoma, it is always good to see the rain. Hope you are all well.

    • I’m just waiting for the macadamia nuts to mature! Yum yum! Akka keeps trying to make chocolate – maybe he’ll perfect it by then. We’re all hanging in there, even my 87-year-old mother-in-law. Seems impossible she is still with us. Guy, wife and baby son will be visiting next month! Maybe I’ll stick some family photos in the blog while they are here. Hugs.

  2. Save some macadamia nuts for me, especially if you make the chocolate. The sand dunes look amazing.
    And you may have been interested in the horse’s eyes, but I love the fact that people come by on horseback to buy chicks. That doesn’t happen everywhere!

    • I’ll TRY to save you some nuts (will have to turn Squirrel and hide some – we can hunt for them when you arrive). I realized the boys on the horse with the chick box would be of interest after I made all my attempts at photographing the horse. Ken’s photos were especially good. The dunes are huge and amazing, but not nearly so photogenic for me.

    • Yes to the hen’s ears indicating the color of the eggs – if the flesh is white, the eggs will be white; if red, the eggs will be brown. As for chickens eating the mice – beats me. I learned that from a fellow blogger, have not seen it happen yet myself.

Leave a Reply

