28 August 2014

2014-08-26 plum 1  R

Monica brought these in – new fruits on the farm – mangosteens, she thought.  I was SO EXCITED!  Mangosteens are delicious.  I knew Austin had planted some mangosteen trees a few years back, but they are supposed to take twenty years before bearing fruit.  Wow!  Ours were so early!

We cut one.

2014-08-26 plum 2  R

Well, the skin was not hard like a mangosteen.  And the flesh was not pearly over the seeds like a mangosteen – but what the heck:  this was 14 years premature!   (I still hadn’t clued in.)   I ran down to the pond with Monica to show off our mangosteens to Austin.  He broke the news to me – they aren’t child-prodigy mangosteens after all – they are some kind of plummy thing.  Even Austin doesn’t know what they are, even though he planted the tree. They are growing on our land and they taste pretty good.  Anyway, it is something new.

2014-08-05 chrysallis 2  R

REMEMBER THE HORN WORMS?  (31 July)

Austin was going to put them in a jar so he could see the moths emerge.    Well here is a chrysalis from one.

2014-08-26 dalo sphinx moth  R

And here is the dalo sphinx moth that emerged.   It had been in the jars several days before I got around to taking its photo, and it was flapping its wings, trying to figure out how they work.   The poor thing finally did manage to take off.

*   *   *

A CONVERSATION

Austin:  You don’t know what you’re talking about.

Me:  What do you mean?

Austin:   You said none of the ducks ever recovered [last week’s blog]

Me:  I thought they didn’t

Austin: No, some of them did.

The Upshot – the blue egret from last week is doing well, as did SOME of the ducks that got sick before.

*    *    *

ANOTHER CONVERSATION

Me:  Where’s Billy?  [the goat from 24 July]

Austin:   Oh he got well and went home.

Me:  (surprised)  Ha.

2014-08-27 sundried tomatoes 4  R

NO MUSS, NO FUSS

It’s the end of the tomato season and we bought a crate of tomatoes.  I refused to blanch them for freezing (photos from that in my blog almost exactly one year ago!) – huge bother!   So Akka, God bless him, decided to try sun-drying them.  This was yesterday morning.   They’re on a screen, see their cute shadows!

2014-08-27 sundried tomatoes 5  R

This was yesterday afternoon.    Lovely.  We’ll pop them out for a few more hours of sun today and then they can be stored in much, much, much less space.

2014-08-27 burning 3  R

I took shots of the grasslands being burned this week, only to find out that exactly a year ago (29 August 2013) I covered the burning grasslands as well.   This seems to be scheduled like clockwork!

a 2014-08-25 JuLin dawn at pineapple circle

THE FARM THROUGH THE EYES OF A GUEST

Ju-lin, a recent guest,  shared her 233 photos from here with me, and agreed that I could post them in my blog.  I chose a handful of my favorites and will share them briefly.   The one above is “dawn at pineapple circle.”

b 2014-08-25 JuLin dawn

Another shot of dawn (I don’t know where exactly)

c 2014-08-25 JuLin morning spider web

Dewy spider web.

d 2014-08-25 JuLin bananas

Bananas.

e 2014-08-25 JuLin papayas

Papayas.

f 2014-08-25 JuLin duck in its outhouse

Goose on a nest.  (Austin tells me that this is the goose who is determined to sit.  LONG story.  Maybe next week.)

h 2014-08-25 JuLin incubator

Austin at the incubator, with eggs hatching in the bottom tray.

j 2014-08-25 JuLin weird flower   Cr

Flower in a tree (I have no idea what it is – very pretty!  I must try to find it!)

k 2014-08-25 JuLin weird fruit

Weird fruit (I have no idea about this one either).

l 2014-08-25 JuLin digging ginger

Monica digging ginger – the observer is Austin’s namesake who was here visiting.

m 2014-08-25 JuLin Kiki & Beamer

The youngest member of our household helping the oldest one to walk around.

n 2014-08-25 JuLin bug

An impressive beetle.

o 2014-08-25 JuLin food

An impressive dinner, starring fish from our pond.

p 2014-08-25 JuLin toadlings

The porch of the cottage at night.

q 2014-08-25 JuLin toadlings   Cr

The stars of the porch stage show.

Thank you, Ju-lin.  It was fun to see our place as you saw it.

 

13 thoughts on “28 August 2014

    • I don’t think twice about all them eggs – it has been like this for months. Austin sells about 10 dozen baby chicks each week – at a very low cost so people can afford them. The baby chicks are starting to cover the feed bill for the rest of the flock.

    • WOW – thanks for letting me know, Mary (and/or Sergai!). It is a lot sweeter than normal star apples, and lacks the distinctive flavor of the ones I know, so I would never have guessed. I wonder if it interferes with medicines the same way as normal star apples?

      • Mom I think you mean starfruit. Looks like star apples and starfruit are two different things.

  1. Oh! and nice sun dried tomatoes 🙂 Were you thinking of storing them in jars with olive oil? That’s how they’re sold in stores and they keep a long time in the oil! So good! 🙂

  2. Thanks for posting some of my pics Kim! Looks like there’s already been so much action on the farm and it’s only been a week since we left!
    To solve the mystery of the flowers – they are from the rose apple tree (which is the fruit in the picture below) near the entrance of the goose pond. These are one of my favourite foods, so I was delighted to see them!
    Also, upon coming home we found ginger currently is $27/kg – you’re growing nuggets of gold!

    • HEY Ju-Lin! I’m so glad you are “here”! Next time I use photos from a guest photographer, it would behoove me to sit down and go through them together. I had never heard of “rose apple” or “star apple” until your photos. I hope you got to eat some. It is a shocker how much this place changes week to week. And as for the “nuggets of gold” – it is all in the pocket of the middle man. The story of farming – what I never knew 🙂 Lots of love

Leave a Reply

