24 July 2014

24-07-14 billy 4  R

.
This is Billy.   He belongs to a neighbor who lives about 1/2 km away.  She called one morning to say our dogs had attacked her goat at 1 am. We were doubtful, but Austin offered to pay for him anyway, but the owner said, no, maybe the goat would recover.  She called again in the afternoon to say the goat was doing badly, to come get it.  If he recovers, give him back, and if not, replace him later. … When Austin got home with him, our dogs were CRAZY EXCITED (so, hell yeah, they were guilty!!!).
.
Billy’s doing FINE now.  Two shots of norocillin sent up by the vet.  Plenty of food.   The dogs are used to him now and are not bothering him.  He’ll go home soon.   And I bet we start seriously looking around for a young nanny goat.
.
07-17- 14 cassava harvest 3  R
.
CASSAVA STARCH
.
On the way to making cassava flour, it is easy to make cassava starch.  This is step 2 – bringing it up.  (Pulling it out of the ground is step 1)
.
07-17- 14 cassava peeling 1  R
.
Next step – peeling it.   Cassava roots have a bark-like brown paper over a thick pink skin.  Both peel off very smoothly leaving a clean, white root.
.
07-17- 14 cassava grated  R
.
For flour, the next step is grating.   I missed it.  I think this was done in the food processor this time.  We used to do it with a hand mill.
.
07-17-14 cassava drying 2  R
.
Onto the roof it went for drying.   We didn’t even have good sunshine, but in 2 days it was dry anyway.
.
07-17-14 hot water system  R
.
While on the roof, would you like to see our fancy solar hot-water system?   Ha ha ha.   It works as long as you want your hot shower in the afternoon.
.
07-17- 14 cassava starch  R
.
Next step on the cassava – Akka soaked some of the grated cassava in water and got this starch.  Wet cassava starch has one of the oddest textures ever – it looks wet, feels dry, can be slowly sunk into, can be broken apart with a ragged edge. Weird, weird, weird.
.
07-17-14 cassava pudding 1  R
.
And the pudding made from the starch is weirder still!     It looks like snot.   We ate this in Palau, a dish called seb-O-seb-UH.   In Palau it was delicious, and our version was too.   Just close your eyes when you eat it.
.
I will show the cassava flour next week.
.
07-10-14 spathodia Cr
.
STINKING SPATHODIA
.
When my naturalist friend Keven was here, he admired the “beautiful” tree with the orange flowers.  Spathodia.  I tried to talk him out of it, but he kept insisting it was pretty.  It reminded me of an identical conversation 14 years ago when I thought it was pretty, and Austin was insisting it was an invasive pest.  On this matter Austin is right.
.
07-17-14  spath (honeyed morning 1) cr
.
Although spathodia was moving up the valley,  there was none blooming in view of our house, 20 km inland, when we moved here six years ago.  Now it is.
.
07-17-14 Spath at funeral 1  R
.
When I went to a funeral 2 km even further inland – behold.
.
07-17-14 spath at Natadola 1  Cr
.
On the way to the barbecue at Natadola (maybe 1/2 km from the beach).   UGH to the spathodia, although the horses were cute.
.
24-07-14 spath 8  R
.
Admittedly the spathodia flower has some visual appeal.
.
07-17-14 Spath tofrom Jeswant 6  Cr
.
But DON’T let it into your neighborhood.
.
On, now, to happier things!
.
24-07-14 cake 0  R
.
A CAKE FOR THE LADY
.
I promised Lady (one of my 2 best blogger cheerleaders) a cake this week.  This one has the crumb of a butter cake, but without the butter.
.
24-07-14 cake 1 R
.
It starts with frozen bananas, that I soaked to get a little soft.
.
24-07-14 cake 3  R
.
I got out my coconut oil, which was frozen since it was less than 72 degrees F (22 C).  I thawed one bottle.
.
24-07-14 cake 2  R
.
This is important – whip the bananas until they are smooth.
.
24-07-14 cake 5  R
.
Then blend in the coconut oil – to get it as close to “real butter” as possible.
.
24-07-14 cake 6  R
.
Here is Fiji sugar.  Both of them.  It is all cane sugar and the difference in color comes from the different time of crushing. The dark sugar is from the end of last crushing season – farmers burn their fields – the dark sugar came from burnt cane.   The pale sugar is from the beginning of the season.    Both sugars taste the same to me.   (I always store sugar in peanut butter jars.  Don’t ask why.)
.
24-07-14 cake 7  R
.
Anyway – you cream the “butter” and sugar –  and then carry on with mixing a cake as normal.   I did put some instant coffee in as well as cocoa power.
.
24-07-14 cake 12  R
.
Lady,  this bite is for you!
..
*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *
10 thoughts on “24 July 2014

  1. Oh oh ooh OH OOOOHHHHHHHH! Cake for me 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Just what I needed to soothe my morning anxiety. (I’m travelling today, that always makes me anxious. Until I get to the airport, anyway)

    I shall savour your delicious banana cake all the way there!

    • Hello Rabrius. Welcome aboard. You certainly will learn “a bit” here – I don’t know much myself. The joke of the thing is that my husband is really smart about flora and fauna and lots else, but I was busy NOT listening to him for 34 years. Finally I decided to pay some attention. I will touch down in your blog when I have time – your photography is gorgeous!

  2. The starch is from the first squeezing of the grated cassava..
    (we wring it out before we dry it) The starch then settles out of the cassava water.
    Fun stuff.!

Leave a Reply

