17 July 2014

07-17- 14 bananas  Cr

.

We’ve got bananas again.   Whoop-dee-doo!  (Lots of food this week – I know one friend is going to enjoy it 🙂 )
.
07-17-14 Natadola 1 R
.
A BARBECUE AT NATADOLA
.
Natadola is a really nice beach, site of a very ritzy resort, about 45 minutes from our home. Two members of our household decided we all had to go on a beach barbecue, and two other members decided it had to be at Natadola.  By the end, we were all glad with both decisions..
.
But we were hardly out of the car before one of the ladies said, “Where are the fishing lines?” ….. They’d been forgotten.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 5  R
.
So instead of fishing, the girls went off on the exposed reef flat while the fellows barbecued.
.
Then one fellow said to the other, “MAN!  I can’t believe we forgot the TONGS!”   The other said, “Don’t worry, Bro.”
.
07-17-14 Natadola 8  R
.
Behold the island-boy tongs: not just a stick, but one that looks like a chicken foot!
.
07-17-14 Natadola 12  R
.
We brought a sack of coconut shells for firewood.   Coconut shells are GREAT for barbecuing over.   The smoke was pretty in the trees, too.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 13 R
.
I had farm on the brain, because I was sure I was seeing a chicken egg there on the sand.  It was just some kind of seed.
.
Anyhow, after awhile, the guys told me just five minutes until it was done – please to go get the ladies.   So I hiked out onto the reef flat.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 16 R
.
I was amazed at what-all was underfoot.   There were things like slime molds.   And odd pink things (I have a lot more photos).   This one is of an edible algae, so I was excited to see this.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 19 R
.
Here is some other leafy thing – looks like I ought to know  what it is.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 23  R
.
And some corals.
.
Anyway, I got the girls and we hiked back,  Granddaddy and Kiki came up from digging in the sand.   We all ate.   Oh yummy – salad, cassava, barbecued tuna and lamb chops and sausages.   Monica had bought two tubs of ice cream.   Austin thought that would be to much, and we’d give a tub to some kids who were also at the beach … until he found out it was Cadbury, best ice cream available in stores.   Talk about a Pig Out!
.
Then we “washed” our dishes with sand.
.
And then the girls showed off their treasures.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 29  R  box crab
.
Monica’s sister came back with a box crab.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 30 R shells
.
And Monica came back with a bunch of edible sea shells….. well, snails inside sea shells.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 31 R
.
Turban shells.
.
07-17-14 Natadola 32 R
.
And something else.   They were all excited because these babies were going to be Breakfast!
.
07-17- 14 turban shells R
.
I DIDN’T GET UP EARLY ENOUGH THE NEXT DAY!    Most of the shellfish had been eaten by the time I got to the kitchen.  “We didn’t know you wanted to eat it, Mom.” (Fijians are VERY generous and I knew this was true) The bites I did get were really, really, really delicious though.
.
07-17- 14 gracilaria Cr
.
And Austin did go collect some of the seaweed.  It’s scientific name is gracilaria edulis. This photo is of it still raw.  It makes an excellent pickle.  We have gone through one large jar already.- just three days.
.
07-17-14 honeyed morning 1 R
.
SUNSHINE LIKE HONEY
.
One morning it was clear – in other words, welcome rain was coming – and there was a brilliant rainbow outside our bedroom window.   I have not changed the exposure or hue on these photos at all.  The sunlight was like honey.
.
07-17-14  roselle bush R
.
This is one of our roselle bushes in that morning light.
.
07-17-14 eggplant jam  R
.
EGGPLANT JAM
.
It is not a misprint – and I didn’t believe it either – but my strange and clever daughter-in-law made jam from eggplant and roselle.   Everybody who has tasted it, says it is delicious.  (Alas, I cannot do sugar, and so must give second hand reports.)   Austin says it tastes like plum jam.   (What is next – okra pie filling?)
.
* Have a great week! *
.
4 thoughts on “17 July 2014

    • I’m tempting you here with food, Lady. Once you have mastered Portuguese, you will want some very exotic foods and some languages that are way outside the box – Fijian and the local Hindi pidgin. OH OH OH – That reminds me – I must do a cake for you some time! (Actually it is just photograph the cake and describe it – I make one every week or two anyway – not a cake you’ve eaten yet, I am sure..)

      • Ooooooh….. a cake… FOR ME 🙂 Can’t wait!

        P.S. Best not to wait (with anything) until I’ve mastered Portuguese, coz that’ll never happen…

  1. Pingback: Found Poetry: Six obnoxious earlier guys and women – conduct defined. | Implied Spaces

Leave a Reply

