26 June 2014

Image

.
Austin is so proud of the green egg he has bred, and he has great plans to breed a “Fiji blue” egg if he can just import the right heritage chickens.   Anyhow, I used these very eggs in the cake for Ludi’s memorial – sort of to represent the races of humanity (uniting the races was her life’s work).   When I showed this photo to the ladies yesterday, they were very touched …. and SO happy I hadn’t used duck eggs. (I don’t know what they have against duck eggs?!  They eat duck, for crying out loud, and duck eggs make the best cake.)
.
Image
.
A WALK BY MYSELF
.
A dear friend and amateur naturalist is here and we were going to take a walk together.  He and his 85 year old mother took the lead, and I tried to catch up – and didn’t.  Anyway, I was in this stream bed and had my camera with me.
.
Image
.
I noticed that this Whatever Weed is pretty cute close up.
.
Image
.
At normal distance it is just a mess.   I took it as a good lesson in looking more closely.
.
Image
.
A new mystery plant – the fruit looked like the poison peanut from living fence (bainidakai – 22 Aug 13) that made Akka sick – but it’s not living fence.
.
Image
.
Sweet little flower.
.
Image
.
Basil!   I thought it was basil there in the dry stream bed, and smelled a crushed leaf, and was right.  And around it were tiny moths!
.
Image
.
I tried really hard to photograph them.
.
Image
.
Finally with the bigger one, I found a bit of success.
.
Image
.
Nice looking fellow, no?   And definitely a moth – wings down.
.
Image
.
I didn’t have success at the end with these creatures.
.
Image
.
 Something very fast on the bottom of the creek bed.  I tried standing still and waiting for one to appear, but they avoided me.  Austin told me they are endemic crabs, unique to Fiji.
.
Image
.
 A WALK WITH KEVEN
.
Keven, a dear friend for more than 3 decades, is the son of Naturegraph Publsihers and is very observant.  During a visit in Puerto Rico, he idly pointed out obvious things I’d habitually overlooked.  I felt sure I would learn stuff if I could go on a walk with him in my back yard.   So here is Keven with an old and oddly-sharpened machete of ours, planning to hack a path up our overgrown road if necessary.   His plucky 85 year old mom joined us.
.
Image
.
We were going to the top of the hill on our far property.  First thing Keven noticed was the faraway tree with the beautiful yellow leaves.  I’d noticed it too.   He pointed out the white bark – I had not noticed that.  Neither of us knew what it was.  I asked Austin – it is the wi (wee) tree – it gives the fruit known as Deutsch mango.
.
Image
.
Keven noticed a pretty fern.  Ok.  And then a different pretty fern beside it.  A different one.
.
Image
.
  I could see that it was lighter green, but that’s all.  Keven pointed out that in the first one, each leaf is branched, and the second one has leaves like spears.   After knowing where to look, I could see it.   Woof!
.
There was discussion of animal droppings as we climbed the hill.
.
There was discussion of butterflies and moths – he saw a butterfly he liked.
.
Image
.
At the top, Keven liked this bush.  Look familiar?  It is the one I liked in the creek bed.  I found out later that it is sonei  (so-nay), and is a weed that is related to eggplant and okra, gives a small inedible fruit and is definitely an introduced species because it has thorns.   Endemic plants do not have thorns because they did not need them.
.
Image
.
We were this far from our house – on the top of another hill.that we practically had to hack a path to….
.
Image
.
and Keven’s mother noticed this odd track.   Really that is so fun and so weird.  It looks like somebody had a bicycle up here.   Who?  How?  WHY?
.
Anyway – many thanks to Keven and his dear mother for taking that walk with me.
.
06-26-14 butterfly mating 4  Cr
.
MATING LEPIDOPTERA
.
Back at the house Akka showed up with 2 butterflies mating.
.
06-26-14 butterfly mating 3  Cr 06-26-14 butterfly mating 2  Cr 06-26-14 butterfly mating 1 Cr
.
Our voyeurism ended when the male flew off with his mate drooping below.
.
7 thoughts on “26 June 2014

    • Clara – good idea! I didn’t see “wheelbarrow feet” (i.e. barrow set down), and I didn’t see human tracks – but it still makes a lot more sense than a bicycle!

  1. Ah Kim,, another day started with a smile on my face after reading your Blog I have always wondered why you have not published in the past. You write so interestingly and make one feel like they are right their with you experiencing the things you are writing about. I would so love to seem my “God Father Kevin” again you know he is responsible for my becoming a Baha’i. It was Kevin who invited me to my first fireside at the Jones’s house in Guam. Kevin was in my first Biology class with Lynn Rawlerson. If he is still in Fiji please relay my love to him and tell him he is always welcome to visit me in China. OK Kim keep blogging I look forward to each and every entry. Love Ya Jo

    • Hey Jo, Yes, Keven is still here – brought wife, both daughters, son-in-law and his mom. He went out with Austin this a.m.. – and surprise, surprise, they’re not back yet. I’l tell him you said hi when they get back. Big hugs. … PS – I saw him tonight and she said to tell you hi, JO.

  2. Pingback: From Fiji with pictures | Ludi Johnson's Worldly Legacy

    • I see what this is. I referenced my blog in an email to Ludi’s friends. Her son put my letter on his blog for his mom, and this makes it possible for readers of FFWR to find the blog for Ludi if they like. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

