5 June 2014

Image

.
Move over, Grumpy Cat – here is  GRUMPY CHICK.
.
Image
.
Grumpy Chick is a good fit for this week’s blog.
.
Image
.
For example, I finally saw an owl here …. and it was dead on the side of the road.   When I told Austin I saw it, he was incensed that some neighbor boys might have been shooting it (I guess he thought slingshots since there aren’t any guns).   He felt abashed when I told him that right near it was a dead rat:  we had just put out rat poison the day before.
.
Image
.
I got a bee sting on my hand this week – guess which finger.
.
Image
.
By morning it looked like this.   Talk about “old lady hands” – UGH!    Lucky I’m a quick healer, and it’s all well now.
.
Image
.
POP QUIZ – guess what this is.   The big “kumi” masi (bark cloth), and the mats with the wide decorated edges will tip you off if you read the blog from 17 April.   This was a funeral.  We were paying respects to a wonderful old woman who was ready to depart, but it’s still not the happiest of subjects.
.
Image
.
I thought you might like to see how they cooked for this funeral.   Some folks on the coast grabbed lengths of train track on the east side of the river after the bridge was destroyed in a flood and the sugar train would no longer be running there.   The track pieces are used as the prop for pots over the cooking fires.   
.
Image
.
Here was the bright spot of my week: a new insect on the floor of my porch.   When it opens its wings it looks like a tiger-colored, leopard-spotted moth.   But I could not get it to open its wings again for me.
.
Image
.
I thought maybe it was some kind of moth, but NO, moths rest with wings out and down.
.
Image
.
This one has its wings rolled around like a cigar.
.
Image
.
I have no idea what class or family of insect does that.  
(Do you get the idea that I’m spending an awfully long time on one bug and maybe dragging my feet here?)
.
Image
.
Finally, the crappiest news of my grumpy-chick, dead owl, bee stung week.   Tarsi bit my friend Venaisi while Eseta and I were walking beside her up the driveway – no warning, no puppies near, no excuse.   (no excuse THIS time, Tarsi has bitten before)    It is possible she ate some chillies that affected her, but still, she cannot stay.
.
She is en route now to her new home …. a very good home.    Our old farmhand Michael is taking her, and is so excited that he had his wife call to confirm that we are really letting him have her, and asking how much we wanted him to pay for her  )   A good home (where she won’t have so many tempting targets to bite) is all we want for her.    Austin took his camera along with instructions to get a photo of Michael and Tarsi’s reunion.
.
Image
.
.     
6 thoughts on “5 June 2014

  1. That is a moth… and the spots are iridescent green… hard to sho up in the photo.. this species is pretty common. I have never seen it elsewhere though.

  2. Pingback: 9 March 2017 | Flora and Fauna Weekly Report

Leave a Reply

