20 February 2014

Image

.
I spent an extra two days in British Columbia, so I raced around my daughter’s neighborhood and took photos of the beautiful evergreens that are the primary component of all the landscaping here.
.
Image
.
Then I asked her terrific father-in-law – with a PhD in trees – what they were.  This tree, the evergreen counterpart of my tropical Cousin Itt trees, is a yellow cedar found along the Pacific Northwest coast and is very aromatic, he says.
.
Image
.
Here is another shot of Itt-2, I mean the cedar, with an ornamental Thuja plicata.    I had no idea there was anything called Thoo-ya.   Like a lawyer with a lisp.
.
Image
.
These are Austrian pines with a juniper hedge.
.
Image
.
In this shot I have a blue spruce (“needles like NEEDLES”) on the left, and the world-famous Douglas fir on the right.
.
Image
.
This poor tree – I saw this tree in several yards – is a grafted weeping birch.   Makes me think of bad haircuts.  I’d love to see a photo from summer.   Now back to evergreens.
.
Image
.
This was by far my favorite bit of landscaping on my daughter’s road.  The variety of evergreens side by side was astounding.   Ralph (Dr. Trees) told me there is Chamaecyparis and juniper and pine here.
.
Image
.
Here is a closer look.    For more on these trees – Ralph pointed me to this website.  http://oregonstate.edu/trees/      And then I flew to North Carolina.
.
Image
.
And found this evergreen inside my cousin’s house.  Who’d have guessed?   We enjoyed a nightly Christmas do-over of holiday movies until the wee hours.  Her husband said it was ok with him, but we weren’t getting any more presents.  ha ha ha.   This trip has been my present.   Today I am heading home.
One thought on “20 February 2014

Leave a Reply

