6 February 2014

Image

.
Tonight I’m flying to Canada for my first trip out of Fiji in nearly 4 years.    This week I asked myself,  “What would I really  miss (besides the people) if I weren’t coming back in two weeks?”    
.
I’d miss this view from our kitchen.  It’s a wall of green with some pale pink ginger flowers in the foreground – I see it every day as I wash the dishes.  The prettiest sink view I’ve ever had.
.
Image
.
I’d miss coconut trees.    
.
Image
.
I’d really miss the coconut trees.   Nothing says “tropics” to me like coconut trees on the horizon.   Many years ago, I had a friend who moved from Guam to California.  I wanted to make her homesick so I sent her a picture postcard of a silhouetted coconut palm at sunset.  She told me when she saw it, she cried.
.
Image
.
I’d miss the best road in Fiji.   Actually, I probably wouldn’t miss it, since Canada and the US have good paved roads everywhere – but when I was walking around with my camera, I looked at Valley Road and I was so PROUD.   In all of Fiji there is no road that is better than this.  The nation’s largest and most travelled road, Queen’s Highway, is only 2-lanes, has mostly uneven pavement, lots of speed bumps, a washed out bit that is taking a year to repair, and so on.  We must enjoy Valley Road in this state while it lasts.
.
Image
.
Abundant flowers – more than there are names for.   A few months ago Austin and I were disagreeing about yellow flowers, it turned out we were talking about two different flowers.  His “loop de lou’s – that grow in the drain”   are the ones above.   I have no idea what their real name is.
.
Image
.
Never knowing what is coming out of the garden.  Junia was very proud of these 3 plump pumpkins.   My muddy foot is at the bottom for perspective.
.
MYSTERY OF THE WEEK – black geckos.  I didn’t get pictures, but we saw a black gecko one evening and a different black gecko the next evening.  (the first one had a stubby tail and short foreleg).   All the geckos we’ve ever known are a pale beige.  Black geckos are very weird.
.
HARD REALITIES – a little brown dog has reportedly gotten into the duck pond and torn apart the duck and goose nests, cracking and eating even the goose eggs.  None of the neighbors own this dog, and in fact he has allegedly been equally destructive at their farms and nobody has been able to catch him.    I hear, a very very fast acting poison is being set out for him.   Horrible, isn’t it!    I debated not mentioning this in the blog – but it is part of the bigger picture of life here.   What else can all the farmers do when civilized refinements (animal control services) are not available?  This is a time when I think a shotgun could be a mercy.  
.
Image
.
HAPPIER THINGS – here is a little dam Austin made so the grandkids would have a swimming hole.
.
Image
.
Once Austin starts playing with rocks, he always ends up making cairns.   This is the tallest of three I found when I went down to look at his dam.   He used to have one by the house and tell all the visitors that it was his earthquake warning system.
.
Image
.
While I was by the creek, I also saw a number of trees who have lost so much soil by their roots that I know they will upturn in one of the next few floods.
.
AND FINALLY …..
.
This is for you, Karolyn –
.
Image
.
Karolyn writes a blog from London, and she was missing the sunshine from India in her post that  I read yesterday.    http://wordpress.com/read/post/id/25921417/3656/     I replied that we had plenty of sun and I’d take a shot from my bedroom window.   I did, and this is it.   We have so much sun that it takes you by the shoulders, pushes you into the ground, and laughs at your attempts to move.   Personally, I am looking forward to a few days in the polar vortex.
.
.
 
One thought on “6 February 2014

  1. I love it! Thank you!
    Does everything in Fiji dry quickly? It seems like no time since you were preparing for storms and floods. Britain and Ireland are saturated with water now. We need a giant hairdryer or something to dry us off.

Leave a Reply

