27 June 2013

Farm Oct 2008 003The grass blowing in ripples on the hill was so pretty, I had to stop what I was doing to watch.  I hadn’t noticed it before, and didn’t trust my perceptions enough for it to “count” – and when I kept watching the hill, the wind never caught the grass like that again.  Then yesterday when I was driving to town, the grass was rippling – even closer – so beautiful.

I was thinking on banana leaves, how much they scream Robinson Crusoe.  First of all, they’re huge – like 5 or 6 feet long, more than 2 feet wide – solid like the handy umbrellas they are.   And then with some wind they start to tear, and after a few moderately windy days (or one tropical storm) they are all tatters.  This is the Robinson Crusoe stage – looking like fringe on a hippie’s vest.   There is something very down at the heels and cheerful about them.

We have guests from Denmark at the moment – strangers that Austin met on line, a lovely couple.  They love the view from our kitchen.  Everyone does, even me.  I realize the view was prettier when we moved here – the spathodia had not moved in and there were not cattle trails (read that as “erosion scars”) on the community land.  But the view is more interesting and ever changing.  Right now it is dry – much of the hill is brown with yellow grasses.

I felt really stupid in Suva last weekend.  It was overcast and it looked like God took the green crayon out of the Crayola box and was scribbling everywhere.   Now I am seeing it all over the place.  I wonder if it is something with my eyesight rather than the light quality.

I saw a flower I like here – like an unopened red hibiscus drooping down over deep blue green leaves – in Suva.  The leaves of the same plant in Suva were lighter and yellower, and the dramatic contrast was lost.  I figure the soil there is lacking something. (you could fill libraries with what I don’t know about plants)

Oh, and I saw one of those herons flying across the field to our south this morning while I was hanging clothes.   Wouldn’t have looked that direction if he didn’t Squawk Squawk as he flew.  (The FFWR is really helping my perceptiveness – I wouldn’t have known it was a heron and probably wouldn’t have made any mental note when I saw him… or her)

Last note – it occurs to me that you might be interested in our bananas.  Austin was given a new plant by agriculture – new variety of eating banana.   The first stalk matured this week, and it’s not the tastiest eating banana – a little starchy.  So (I’m taking the credit here) I thought of frying it the way we used to do back in Micronesia – Austin and son Akka were ecstatic and Akka immediately took over, cooking the halved bananas until they were just carmelized.  Yum!  (Good eating bananas are too soft for this)   Our Indian neighbors had never heard of thought of such a thing – but they love them too.  We have introduced a new food into the valley!

2 thoughts on “27 June 2013

  1. Hi Kim – I wanted to reply with a picture but text will have to do. View from upstairs window in my house: long grass blowing in ripples on the hill when the wind blows from the west. Very different country and climate, very similar waves. I find them sort of mesmerizing to watch.
    I enjoy reading your blog.
    Rolf

Leave a Reply

